Comes and Goes

As technology constantly improves, it can just as easily vanish.

Just last week, we began learning about online collaborative documents, which are based on EtherPad. Today I read a post on Free Technology for Teachers (fast becoming my favorite blog to follow) that EtherPad will be shutting down for good later this week. Fortunately, their code has been made open source so there are several clones we can turn to instead.

This just strikes me on how important it is to stay current in technology. You need o have plenty of options always available and you need to be prepared for when those options disappear.

On the bright side, I’m starting on my VoiceThreads next week. My second graders will be working on Life Cycles which I think will lend themselves perfectly to this technology. I better get them done fast before this tool vanishes too!

Published in: on May 12, 2010 at 9:22 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://staciebell.wordpress.com/2010/05/12/comes-and-goes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Stacie: You shared some good insights. I first learned of Etherpad’s demise about a month ago through my Twitter PLN, but right away folks were mentioning alternatives. The same thing happened when Wordle went down temporarily. Leveraging robust PLNs is the best way to keep up-to-date.

    I’ll look forward to seeing the VoiceThreads. I’ll bet they will be great!


Leave a Reply

